THE HONORABLE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, MADISON, GEORGIA, MET THIS DAY IN A SPECIAL CALLED MEETING.

MEETING WAS HELD ON THE SECOND FLOOR OF THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING.

- **PRESENT:** Chairman Philipp von Hanstein, Vice-Chair Ben Riden, Jr., Commissioners Bill Kurtz, Donald Harris and Andy A. Ainslie, Jr.
- **STAFF:** County Manager Adam Mestres and County Clerk Leslie Brandt.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m., followed by the Pledge of Allegiance and Invocation.

AGENDA APPROVAL

Motion by Commissioner Riden, Seconded by Commissioner Harris to approve agenda as presented. Unanimously Approved.

ELECTION BOARD VACANCIES

The method of appointment to the Board of Elections was recently amended. The current members will automatically fall off the Board effective July 1, 2021. Therefore, the Board of Commissioners must appoint five new members to the Board of Elections. The new members will fulfill partial terms. Three terms will begin July 1, 2021 and end December 31, 2021, and two terms will begin July 1, 2021 and end December 31, 2023.

Sixteen applications were received from Kathy Hubbard, Kacy Morgan, Timothy Carter, Kirby Hayes, Dena Lanier, Robert McCauley, Helen Butler, Mary Kay Clyburn, Julie Benkoski, Barry Broadnax, John Strickland Jr., Avery Jackson, Robert Baldwin, Terry Evans, James Woodard, and Wendell McNeal.

Motion by Commissioner Ainslie, Seconded by Commissioner Riden to appoint Timothy Carter, Barry Broadnax, James Woodard, Mary Kay Clyburn, and Kirby Hayes to the Elections Board. Unanimously Approved.

Motion by Commissioner Riden, Seconded by Commissioner Harris to appoint James Woodard and Barry Broadnax to serve on the Elections Board with term beginning July 1, 2021 and ending December 31, 2023, and to appoint Kirby Hayes, Mary Kay Clyburn, and Timothy Carter to serve on the Elections Board with term beginning July 1, 2021 and ending December 31, 2021. Unanimously Approved.

DFACS BOARD VACANCY

The term of Sheree Evans is set to expire June 30, 2021 on the DFACS Board. Mrs. Evans submitted an application to be considered for reappointment.

No other applications were received.

Motion by Commissioner Riden, Seconded by Commissioner Kurtz to reappoint Sheree Evans to the DFACS Board with term beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2026. Unanimously Approved.

HOSPITAL BOARD VACANCIES The terms of Maynard "Butch" Thompson, Paul Courchaine, and Dr. Dan Zant are set to expire June 30, 2021 on the Hospital Board. All three members have submitted applications to be considered for reappointment.

No other applications were received.

Motion by Commissioner Harris, Seconded by Commissioner Ainslie to reappoint Maynard "Butch" Thompson, Jr., Paul Courchaine, and Dr. Daniel Zant to the Hospital Board with term beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2024. Unanimously Approved.

NE GA REGIONAL COMMISSION BOARD VACANCY

The term of David Bentley on the Northeast GA Regional Commission is set to expire June 30, 2021. We received three applications for consideration from Ryan Marks, Jennifer Stewart, and Bob McCauley.

<u>Motion</u> by Commissioner Ainslie, Seconded by Commissioner Riden to appoint Jennifer Stewart to the NE GA Regional Commission Board with term beginning July 1, 2021 and ending June 30, 2022. Unanimously Approved.

PUBLIC COMMENTS ON AGENDA ITEMS

Public comments were made by: Jeanne Dufort, Morgan County Resident Steve Whitcomb, Morgan County Resident Donald Melvin, Conyers GA Resident, Member of the Morgan County NAACP

MOTION by Commissioner Ainslie, seconded by Commissioner Riden to exit Regular Session and adjourn at 6:24 p.m. Unanimously Approved.

Philipp von Hanstein, Chairman

ATTEST:

Leslie Brandt, County Clerk